Priority Enrolment Area (PEA)

1. Definition

Each ACT public school gives priority to the enrolment of children living in its Priority Enrolment Area (PEA). ACT public schools are non-selective.

2. Frequently Asked Questions

The FAQs for Priority Enrolment Areas provides detailed additional information on PEAs.

3. Schedule of PEAs

Detailed maps of PEAs for 2016 and 2017 can be found on the Allhomes external icon website.

To use the Allhomes map tool:

  1. Scroll down the Allhomes screen until you get to the options section.
  2. Select 'ACT public school zones'
  3. Select one of 'Primary Schools', 'High Schools' or 'Colleges'. This will bring up a new layer on the map.
  4. Zoom in and out of the map using your mouse or blue arrows on the left.
  5. Clicking on the school or information icons provides information on the school or shared Priority Enrolment Area.

3.1 PEAs for 2016 and 2017

To find your local school refer to the suburb look up table. PEA information is also provided in text form.

Suburb Lookup Tables for 2016 and 2017

The following information shows the schools which serve each suburb. Some parts of some suburbs cannot access all the listed schools due to certain suburbs being spread across a number of PEAs (refer to Allhomes external icon map for more detail). This general guide should be viewed in conjunction with maps and tables relating to specific schools. This guide does not include Early Childhood Schools, Special Needs Schools and the Kindergarten to Year 6 French program at Telopea School as they have no priority Enrolment areas.

PEA Descriptions by School for 2016 and 2017 Priority Enrolment Area (PEA)

The pages provide information about school or college linkages with suburbs or parts of suburbs:



3.2 Summary of Changes

4. Potential PEA Changes Under Consideration by the Directorate

Potentially Affected Schools Potentially Affected Suburbs Description of Potential Changes Potential Timing
Canberra College and Erindale College Kambah College aged residents of Kambah to have shared priority enrolment at Erindale College and Lake Tuggeranong College. Existing Priority enrolment arrangement to cease. 2018
Belconnen High School and Melba Copeland Secondary School (Melba Campus) Florey Shared status of Florey to be removed such that high school aged residents of Florey only have priority enrolment at Belconnen High School. Existing Priority enrolment arrangement to cease. 2018 or 2019
North Ainslie Primary School and Majura Primary School Downer Primary school aged residents of Downer to have shared priority access to either Majura Primary school or Lyneham Primary School. Existing Priority enrolment arrangement to cease. 2018
Mawson Primary School Chifley, Pearce Shared status of Chifley and part Pearce to removed such that primary school residents have priority enrolment to Torrens Primary School only. Existing Priority enrolment arrangement to cease. 2018 or 2019
Aranda Primary School and Maribyrnong Primary School Bruce Residents of Bruce to have priority enrolment at Maribyrnong Primary School. Existing Priority enrolment arrangement to cease. 2018 or 2019
Harrison School and Gungahlin College Throsby (future suburb) Primary and high school-aged residents of Throsby to be provided priority enrolment at Harrison School. College-residents to be provided priority enrolment at Gungahlin College 2018

5. Contact Details

If you require further assistance or clarification on the priority enrolment areas please contact the ACT Education Directorate at: