Follow us on:

Winners Announced

The Awards acknowledge principals, teachers, Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander education leadership, support staff, partnerships and volunteers. In addition, this year several employees were recognised for their valuable contribution to Canberra public schools for over forty years of service.

This year’s event was bigger than ever, attracting more than double the nominations from 2015. This is a clear reflection of the exceptional staff working in Canberra public schools, striving to make a difference in students’ lives every day.

Newly appointed Minister for Education and Early Childhood Development, Ms Yvette Berry MLA congratulated all winners and presented awards at the special ceremony on Thursday 3 November 2016 at the National Gallery of Australia.

Congratulations to everyone acknowledged on the night.

Photograph of the 2016 ACT Public Education Award winners

Recognition of Service Awards - 40 years

The following recipients were presented awards at the event:


The ACT Education Directorate acknowledges the contribution of our sponsor - Teachers Mutual Bank.

Mutual Bank logo