Follow us on:

Internal Audit Section is responsible for planning and delivering the Directorate’s annual audit program, monitoring the Directorate’s compliance and governance controls and coordination of audit sponsors, auditees and audit providers. It also undertakes reviews and investigations as requested by the Senior Executive Responsible for Business Integrity Risk (SERBIR), Senior Executive Team (SET) and the Audit Committee.

The Section engages external auditors to conduct some audits. Providers are sourced from a panel of external audit service providers.

The Directorate’s Audit Committee Charter reflects the Australian National Audit Office and the ACT Treasury best practice guides for Audit Committees. The Committee’s internal audit responsibilities are to:

The Audit Committee met four times during 2016-17. The Committee membership and attendance are displayed in Table B5.1.

Table B5.1: Audit Committee membership and meetings in 2016-17



Meetings attended

Carol Lilley

Chairperson (external)


Meg Brighton

Internal member


Sue Chapman1

External member


Mark Ridley2

External member


Meredith Whitten3

Internal member


Source: Chief Internal Auditor, Audit and Assurance

1 Sue Chapman was appointed as an external member of the Audit Committee and her first attendance was at the September 2016 meeting.
2 Mark Ridley was appointed as an external member of the Audit Committee and his first attendance was at the March 2017 meeting.
3 Meredith Whitten was an internal member of the Audit Committee for the meeting in September 2016 only.

Internal audits tabled in 2016-17 were:

Internal audits to be undertaken in 2017-18 are:

For further information contact:
Governance and Community Liaison
(02) 6205 5511

Back to Top