Early Childhood Advisory Council

The Early Childhood Advisory Council has been established to foster a stronger partnership between the ACT Government and the early childhood education and care sector.

The Council will run for an initial two year term and include a range of representatives across the sector:

NameInstitutionArea of representation
Ms Cathy Hudson (Chair)Policy Advisor and Deputy Chair ACECQA BoardIndependent Chair
Ms Natalie Howson (Deputy Chair)Director-General, ACT EducationGovernment
Mr Simon BennettAnglicareIndependent Schools and Community
Mr Darren BlackYMCA CanberraCommunity not for profit
Ms Bernadette CarbinYWCA CanberraCommunity not for profit
Ms Alice CastrissionCatholic EducationCatholic Education
Mr Peter CurtisAustralian Education Union – ACT BranchPeak body
Ms Joanne GarrissonAssociation of Independent Schools ACTIndependent Schools Association
Ms Sandy LeitchEarly Childhood AustraliaPeak body
Ms Lee MaidenCommunities@WorkCommunity not for profit and Family Day Care
Mr Bruce PappsNorthside Community ServiceCommunity not for profit
Ms Reesha StefekWoden Early Childhood CentreIndependent not for profit
Ms Lisa SyretteAIS Site Services BranchIndependent not for profit
Ms Symmone TurnerPreschool Teachers Professional AssociationProfessional association

The initial work of the Council will be to provide advice to the Minister on proposals that arise from the Early Childhood Strategy and the Future of Education conversation, which are both currently in development.

The goal of the Council is to bring together the diverse parts of the education and care sector for collaborative input and advice to Government. Members have been selected not solely as representatives of their organisations but on the basis of their individual skills and expertise in the sector.

The establishment of the Council presents an opportunity to create dynamic and strong partnerships within the sector, with the ultimate aim to increase access to quality early childhood education and care for every child in the ACT.

Contact ECPolicy@act.gov.au for further information on the Council and the development of the Early Childhood Strategy.

Information on the Future of Education is available via www.education.act.gov.au/school_education/the-future-of-education.