Languages in ACT Schools

Why do we teach languages in ACT schools?

In August 2017 an ACT Government newsletter stated that all public schools offer a language education. We wish to a make the following correction:

A number of public primary schools are not able to offer a language program in 2017. These schools are working to try and include language in their curriculum. These schools are:

  • Neville Bonner School
  • Taylor Primary School
  • Charles Conder Primary School
  • Richardson Primary School
  • Theodore Primary School
  • Calwell Primary School

Parents and carers of children attending these schools are welcome to discuss the program on offer by their school with the Principal.

List of languages taught at ACT Government Schools:

Language Pathways Plan pdf icon (570 kb)

Bilingual Programs