The Australian Curriculum, Assessment and Reporting Authority (ACARA) has finalised the Australian Curriculum.

The Australian Curriculum is designed to help all young Australians to become successful learners, confident and creative individuals, and active and informed citizens. Presented as a developmental sequence of learning from Foundation - Year 10, the Australian Curriculum describes to teachers, parents, students and others in the wider community what is to be taught and the quality of learning expected of young people as they progress through school.

The three-dimensional design of the Foundation – Year 10 Australian Curriculum recognises the importance of disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding alongside general capabilities and cross-curriculum priorities. Disciplinary knowledge, skills and understanding are described in the eight learning areas of the Australian Curriculum: English, Mathematics, Science, Health and Physical Education, Humanities and Social Sciences, The Arts, Technologies and Languages. The latter four learning areas have been written to include multiple subjects, reflecting custom and practice in the discipline. In each learning area or subject, content descriptions specify what young people will learn, and achievement standards describe the depth of understanding and the sophistication of knowledge and skill expected of students at the end of each year level or band of years.

Visit the Australian Curriculum website

School curriculum planning and documentation continues to describe scope and sequencing, content detail and resourcing.

Currently Year 11/12 course frameworks are developed by the Board of Senior Secondary Studies and used by schools to develop courses. They provide a framework for developing content and assessment. This will remain the case until the implementation of the senior years Australian Curriculum.

History of Canberra Education Resources

Centenary of Canberra history education resources on Canberra's selection and early development as the national capital are designed to generate discussion on aspects of Canberra's future.

Archaeological excavation and carbon dating of sites in Tidbinbilla Nature Reserve and Namadgi National Park confirm Aboriginal presence in the ACT region 25,000 years ago.

Aboriginal Heritage and the Cultural Landscape of the ACT

ACT Historic Places sites of Mugga-Mugga Cottage, Calthorpes’ House and Lanyon Homestead offer students a wide range of experiences with an emphasis on heritage, history and the environment. Programs are held across the three sites and provide immersive and hands on components.

Lanyon Homestead is one of Australia’s premier historic properties with an 1850's homestead that has been restored and furnished. Squatters grazed this area prior to its purchase by James Wright and John Lanyon in 1834. Convicts were assigned to work on the property in return for rations, clothing and simple wooden huts. James established a home farm to provide food, built a small house and huts for the convicts, and a kitchen and barn, both of which still stand today. Lanyon was compulsorily acquired by the Commonwealth Government in 1971 and it was opened to the public as a historic property in 1975.

Originally built for the head shepherd of Duntroon estate, it is now preserved as it was in the time of the Curley family who made it their home from 1913 to 1995. In 1995 Sylvia Curley transferred the management to the ACT Government and it is now preserved by the ACT Government as an historic place on behalf of the community. It is located in Symonston. Mugga-Mugga has been furnished, and the gardens replanted, according to Sylvia Curley’s memories of the family’s time there. An Education Centre provides a venue for learning programs. Native grasses and rare native fauna still survive at and hands-on, interactive and discovery-based learning programs are offered to students on site.

Mugga Mugga Cottage

This home was built in 1927, the year the Federal Parliament and public service were transferred to Canberra. Furniture, household items and fittings were carefully cared for rather than being replaced so the house and its contents remain excellent examples of the prevailing style of the time.

Calthorpe’s House

The Hall School Museum includes, in addition to, the century old school building (established 1911 and closed 2006), its furniture and school artefacts, a large collection of manuscript and documentary material dating back to the early decades of the twentieth century, audio-visual teaching, school textbooks and primary school library books.

Hall School Museum and Heritage Centre

Situated in Chisholm the Tuggeranong Schoolhouse was built in 1880. The brick building was used for sixty years until falling attendance by 1939 forced the school to close. The cottage has been extensively renovated ACT Government.

Tuggeranong Schoolhouse Museum

Back to Top